Conversation vs Communication

So much of my class time is spent conversing with students and working 1-on-1 with helping them overcoming hurdles in my classroom. So much so that I often find it hard to find the time to read and document feedback on all of the students reflection and summaries of learning.

For this I am often disappointed with myself, and try and convey that shortcoming to my students. In part because I believe that my documented feedback of their hard work and reflections should be the same as the conversations I have with students. But how is this possible!? Should I have a video drone recording me? Maybe one day it could come to that. But for now, the issue may be with me and my perception of how I am to develop at reflecting, teaching reflection, assessing and providing feedback for their communication.

Communication vs Conversation. A quick google search resulted in several site containing the following;

Conversation is an exchange of words, while communication is the transformation of thoughts and words into meaningful action. Conversation typically involves what you wish to share with another; communication focuses more on what you wish to accomplish.
In order to communicate effectively, we must:
– Listen actively.
– Speak only after considering the ramifications of our words.
– Establish and assign ownership to a shared vision or idea while transferring accountability with responsibility to the individual assuming each task.
– Intentionally follow through to make sure expectations are met and objectives are accomplished (while avoiding the natural tendency to “rescue” or “save” another from mistakes or failures).
– Allow mistakes (our own and those of others) to become learning experiences rather than death sentences.
– Praise openly and honestly and criticize privately and quietly.

http://www.grbj.com/articles/78105-the-big-difference-between-conversation-and-communication

For me, this drives home the fact that I need to provide constructive feedback to students when they communicate about their learning. But it doesn’t help me with clarifying the form that documented feedback should take with students. 

Possibly as I develop I need to schedule some in-class time where I focus on a couple of students at a day. Not only to have the conversation with the in class about work and reflection, but I document a summary of that conversation for them to create actionable items to develop their learning. This approach may also  provide opportunity to showcase growth over the progress of the activity.

The plan is formed. Time to see if I can improve myself and my practice, to provide better feedback and greater opportunities for students.

1 Comment

  1. I really like this idea. It eliminates the problem of students not engaging in the formative assessment I give them. I guess we are leading the horse to water further, and hoping they will drink.

    Like

Leave a Reply

